

CSA/57/DEC Original: English

<u>DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE UNWTO COMMISSION</u> FOR SOUTH ASIA AT ITS FIFTY-SEVENTH MEETING

Thimphu, Bhutan, 4 June 2019

CONTENTS

		<u>Page</u>
1.	Agenda	2
2.	Decisions taken by the Commission	3
3.	List of participants	6

UNWTO COMMISSION FOR SOUTH ASIA (CSA) 57th Meeting Thimphu, Bhutan 4 June, 2019

Agenda

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda
- 2. Introductory remarks by the Chairperson of the Commission (Bangladesh)
- 1. Nomination of officers of the 23rd session of the General Assembly:
 - a. One Vice-President of the General Assembly
 - b. One Member of the Credentials Committee
- 4. Election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission for the period 2019-2021
- 5. Nomination of the following candidates to represent the region on the Executive Council and its subsidiary organs from 2019-2023, except the Committee for the Review of Applications of Affiliate Members (2019-2021):
 - a. One candidate for the Programme and Budget Committee (PBC)
 - b. One candidate to Committee on Statistics and Tourism Satellite Account (STSC)
 - c. One candidate to the Committee on Tourism and Sustainability (CTS)
 - d. **One** candidate to Committee on Tourism and Competitiveness (CTC)
 - e. **One** candidate to the Committee for the Review of Applications of Affiliate Membership from 2019-2021¹
- 6. Other matters
- 7. Place and date of the Fifty-eighth meeting of the Commission

¹ This member should be from the Executive Council.

3

PREAMBLE

The fifty-seventh meeting of the UNWTO Commission for South Asia (57th CSA) chaired by **Bangladesh** was held back to back with the thirty-first joint meeting of the UNWTO Commission for East Asia and the Pacific and the UNWTO Commission for South Asia (31st CAP-CSA), the 53rd Meeting of the UNWTO Commission for East Asia and the Pacific (53rd CAP) and the *UNWTO Regional Conference on Sustainable Tourism for Development*. They were held in Thimphu, Bhutan, from 3-5 June 2019.

for East Asia and the Pacific (53rd CAP) and the UNWTO Regional Conference on Sustainable Tourism for Development. They were held in Thimphu, Bhutan, from 3-5 June 2019.

DECISIONS

CSA/DEC/1(LVII)

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA
Agenda item 1 (document CSA/53/Prov.Ag.)

The Commission,

Adopts the provisional agenda of its 57th meeting, as submitted by the Secretary-General in document CSA/57/Prov.Agenda. The final agenda of the meeting is located on the previous page (i.e. page 2).

CSA/DEC/2(LVII)

INTRODUCTORY REMARKS BY THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE COMMISSION
Agenda item 2

The Commission,

Thanks the Chairperson for his remarks.

CSA/DEC/3(LVIII)

NOMINATION OF OFFICERS OF THE 23RD SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Agenda items 4 and 5 (document CSA 57/Com.Reg)

The Commission,

<u>Decides</u> to nominate the following Members as its candidates to the offices of the 23rd session of the General Assembly:

- <u>Vice-President of the Assembly</u>: Bangladesh
- Member of the Credentials Committee: Bangladesh

.....

CSA/DEC/4(LVII)

<u>ELECTION OF THE CHAIRPERSON AND VICE-CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMISSION FOR THE PERIOD 2019-2021</u>

The Commission,

<u>Having</u> been informed that Maldives is the only country to present its candidature as the Chair of the Commission,

<u>Decides</u> to elect **Maldives** as the Chairperson while **Bhutan** and **Sri Lanka** were elected as the Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission for South Asia for a term of office of two years commencing from the 23rd session of the General Assembly.

CSA/DEC/5(LVII)

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES TO REPRESENT THE REGION ON THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL & ITS SUBSIDIARY ORGANS FROM 2019-2023 EXCEPT THE COMMITTEE FOR THE REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS OF AFFILIATE MEMBERS (2019-2021)

The Commission,

<u>Having considered</u> the working document submitted by the Secretary-General on the nominations and elections to statutory organs and their subsidiary organs,

<u>Decides</u> to nominate the following countries to represent the region as follows:

- **Sri Lanka** as a member of the Programme and Budget Committee (PBC) from 2019-2023;
- Nepal as a member of the Committee on Statistics and Tourism Satellite Account (CSTSA) from 2019-2023;
- **Bhutan** as a member of the Committee for Tourism and Sustainability (CTS) from 2019-2023;
- India as a member of the Committee on Tourism and Competitiveness (CTC) from 2019-2023;
- Iran as a member of the Review of Applications of Affiliate Membership from 2019-2021

CSA/DEC/6(LVII)

OTHER MATTERS Agenda item 6

Agenda item

No issues were discussed under this item.

CSA/DEC/7(LVII)		

PLACE AND DATE OF THE FIFTY-EIGHTH MEETING OF THE COMMISSION Agenda item 7

The Commission,

 $\underline{\text{Notes}}$ that the 58th meeting of the Commission will take place in 2021, in principle in the venue of UNWTO's 24th General Assembly.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

UNWTO COMMISSION FOR SOUTH ASIA

1) Bangladesh

Mr. Md. Mahbub Ali

State Minister
Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism
Floor 19, Building 06
Dhaka 1000
Bangladesh
psminister@mocat.gov.bd

Mrs. Nilufar Yesmin

Deputy Director
Bangladesh Tourism Board
Ministry of Civil Aviation & Tourism
Level 03, Building 2
BSL Office Complex (Hotel Intercontinental
Dhaka), 1 Minto Road, Dhaka-1000
Bangladesh
btbnto@gmail.com

Mr. Bhubon Chandra Biswas

Chief Executive Officer
Bangladesh Tourism Board
Ministry of Civil Aviation & Tourism
Level 03, Building 2
BSL Office Complex (Hotel Intercontinental
Dhaka), 1 Minto Road, Dhaka-1000
Bangladesh
bhubonbiswas@yahoo.com

Mr. Md A Jalil

Deputy Secretary
Bangladesh Tourism Board
Ministry of Civil Aviation & Tourism
Level 03, Building 2
BSL Office Complex (Hotel Intercontinental
Dhaka), 1 Minto Road, Dhaka-1000
Bangladesh
nokshilife@gmai.com

Mr. Shabab Bin Ahmed

Counsellor
Embassy of the People's Republic of
Bangladesh
Plot Nol. HIG
Upper Chubachu, Timphu
Bhutan
Shabab.ahmed@mofa.gov.bd

2) Bhutan

Mr. Dorji Dhradhul

Director General
Tourism Council of Bhutan
P.O. Box 126 THIMPHU
Bhutan
ddhradhul@tourism.gov.bt

Mrs. Pema Dekar

Chief Tourism Officer, Services Division Tourism Council of Bhutan P.O. Box 126 THIMPHU Bhutan pdekar@tourism.gov.bt

Mr. Rinzin Jamtsho

Chief Tourism Officer, Tourism Council of Bhutan P.O. Box 126 THIMPHU Bhutan r_jamtsho@tourism.gov.bt

Mr. Thinley Rinzin

Chief Tourism Officer
Tourism Council of Bhutan
P.O. Box 126 THIMPHU
Bhutan
trinzin@tcb.gov.bt

Mr. Kinley Wangdi

Chief Tourism Officer
Tourism Council of Bhutan
P.O. Box 126 THIMPHU
Bhutan
kinleywang@tourism.gov.bt

3) India

Mr. Suman Billa

Joint Secretary
Ministry of Tourism
Transport Bhavan, 1 Sansad Mag
New Delhi – 110001
India
suman.billa@nic.in

4) Maldives

Mr. Ahmed Salih

Minister of State for Tourism Ministry of Tourism 5th Floor, Velaanaage Ameer Ahmed Magu 20096 Maldives ahmed.salih@tourism.gov.mv

5) Nepal

Mr. Mohan Krishna Sapkota

Secretary
Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
Singhadarbar
Kathmandu
Nepal
mohansapkota@gmail.com

Mr. Kashi Raj Bhandari

Senior Director
Research Planning and Monitoring Department
Nepal Tourism Board
Tourist Service Center
P.O Box: 11018
Bhrikuti Mandap, Kathmandu,
Nepal
kashiraj@ntb.org.np
kashibhandari@gmail.com

6) Sri Lanka

7

Mr. Siripala Hettiarachchi

Secretary
Ministry of Tourism Development, Wildlife
6th Floor, Rakshana Mandiraya
No 21, Vauxhall Street
Colombo,
Sri Lanka
secretary@tourismmin.gov.lk

Mr. R.U. Ratnayake

ratnayake234@gmail.com

Director General
Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority
No 80, Galle Road
Colombo 03,
Sri Lanka
dg@srilanka.travel
upalir@srilanka.travel